Female mps in ghana

Election 2020: Here are all the 40 female MPs-elect of Ghana’s 8th Parliament

On 7th December 2020, Ghanaians went to the polls for the 8th elections in this fourth republic and it has been arguably the most successful and peaceful elections so far. The incumbent president Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo was re-elected for the second and final term. He pulled a whopping 6730587 of the valid votes cast representing 51.3% while his biggest contender and leader of the opposition party, John Dramani Mahama also got 6213182 votes representing 47.4%.

Some Members of Parliament also gained re-election with some paving way for others to take their place in Ghana’s next parliament.

Among the many elected legislators, were a number of women who would rub shoulders with their fellow male MPs to take and make decisions for the country.

Surprisingly, the 40 female MPs-elect have been split evenly between the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) and opposition National Democratic Congress.

No independent female candidate made it to parliament this time.

Today, we bring you all the 40 female MPs-elect who have made it to Ghana’s 8th parliament in the fourth republic.

New Patriotic Party (NPP)

1) Abena Osei Asare – Atiwa East Constituency

2) Adelaide Ntim – Nsuta Kwamang Beposo

3) Ama Pomaa – Juabeng Constituency

4) Cynthia Morrison – Agona West Constituency

5) Dakoa Newman – Okaikoi South Constituency

6) Francisca Oteng Mensah – Kwabre East Constituency

7) Freda Prempeh – Tano North Constituency

8) Hawa Koomson – Awutu Senya East Constituency

9) Gifty Twum Ampofo – Abuakwa North Constituency

10) Lariba Adudu – Walewale Constituency

READ ALSO  Treasury bills in Ghana: Here’s what to know

11) Lydia Seyram Alhassan – Ayawaso West Wugon

12) Mavis Nkansah Boadu – Afigya Sekyere East Constituency

13) Naana Eyiah – Gomah Central Constituency

14) Nana Ama Dokua Asiamah Adjei – Akuapem North Constituency

15) Ophelia Hayford – Mfantseman Constituency

16) Patricia Appiagyei – Asokwa Constituency

17) Sarah Adwoa Sarfo – Dome Kwabenya Constituency

18) Sheila Bartels – Ablekuma North Constituency

19) Tina Mensah – Weija Gbawe Constituency

20) Ursula Owusu Ekuful – Ablekuma West Constituency

National Democratic Congress (NDC)

1) Abla Gomashie – Ketu South Constituency

2) Angela Oforiwaa Alorwu Tay – Afadzato South Constituency

3) Agnes Lartey – Krowor Constituency

4) Comfort Cudjoe Ghansah – Ada Constituency

5) Dela Sowah – Kpando Constituency

6) Dorcas Afo Toffey – Jomoro Constituency

7) Elizabeth Ofosu Agyare – Techiman North

8) Gizella Tetteh – Awutu Senya West Constituency

9) Hellen Ntoso – Krachi West Constituency

10) Joycelyn Tetteh – North Dayi Constituency

11) Linda Ocloo – Shai Osudoku Constituency

12) Lydia Lamisi – Tempane Constituency

13) Queenstar Pokuwaa Sawyerr – Agona East Constituency

14) Rita Naa Odoley Sowah – La Dadekotokpon Constituency

15) Sophia Ackuaku – Domeabra Obom Constituency

16) Theresa Lardi Awuni – Okaikoi North Constituency

17) Zanetor Rawlings – Klottey Korley Constituency

18) Zewura Ibrahimh – Salaga South Constituency

19) Alalzuuga Alberta Akuka – Garu

20) Laadi Ayamba – Pusiga


Do you have a story for us or need a promotion/advertisment? Submit them via our email info@kumasiblogger.com or WhatsApp 233505721038